Take it slow Joe!

Image-1-2

Dads are great.

My Dad is awesome. I’m just going to put that out there.

This week we had a long chat about my life, my schedule, my goals and my frustrations. Because it’s ok, by the way, to be frustrated sometimes. Frustration can drive us. It can be the thing we need to motivate us to move forward.

I had a few of reality checks this week:

  1. as it turns out, I can’t actually do everything all the time  (who knew?)
  2. my life style does not allow for tons of free time so I have to use what I have really wisely.
  3. Berating myself for what I don’t achieve because of my unrealistic expectations is NOT helpful. Celebrating the wins when I manage my expectations correctly IS helpful. (NOTE: Challenging yourself is important, but setting targets that are impossible to manage is more likely than not going to demotivate you from continuing on your journey – regardless of what journey that is).

 

There are 3 things that you need in order to make a change in your life:

INTENTION, PROCESS, DISCIPLINE

I have intention coming out of my ears. I am determined to make a change and for it to be a life long lasting one. I recognise that I may never be one of those people who never thinks about food or weight – as it stands, I can’t even imagine thinking that way – BUT I will not be owned by it. As my dad says, ‘don’t let life happen to you’ (Man, he’s a wise guy).

So my struggle has been the process. I don’t think you can be disciplined about something that you don’t know HOW to do. So we came up with a couple of things to get my process going until I can manage my time a bit better.

I learnt this week that environment has ALOT to do with the success of changes like the ones that I’m making. I have an incredibly supportive work environment and family, but I’m not able to dedicate a huge amount of time to cooking and preparing food just yet so I have to put in place some habits to help me along the way.

SO, BREAKFAST:

I’ve never been very good at it, but for the foreseeable future I will be eating fruit salad and overnight oats for breakfast. I am beyond whether I like it, or feel like it, or want it. I’m going to do it because it’s good for me and it’s a win that I know that I can achieve. So why wouldn’t I want to? This is where the discipline comes in. I’ve never been good at eating in the mornings and I’m NOT an early morning person so it’s going to be interesting.

I know it seems like a really small thing, but if I can eat a good breakfast every day for 3 weeks, well that will be a real win for me.

What are your wins? What can you do or change today that will start you on a path to making a difference in your life? Remember, you have to WANT it.

And remember, it’s OK to take things one at a time.

Have a good weekend!!

 

S x

Leave a comment